Posted in Uncategorized

Big Herba Out of Control: Why Vitamins, Minerals and Herbal Remedies Can Be Dangerous | Alternet

Earlier this week there was a very scary story regarding herbal vitamins and remedies.  I am a strong believer in alternative medicines especially Ayurvedic medications.  Whenever I or one of my family members fall ill, we reach for the herbal remedies first.

Imagine my surprise and horror to learn that many of the herbs and vitamins sold on popular store shelves were nothing more that rice, wheat, and fillers.  Although, I normally frequent Indian grocery stores or the mandir that is close to my home for the herbal remedies,  I have purchased vitamins and herbal remedies from GNC (one of the companies mentioned in the story).   Never again.  I don’t think I will ever step foot in GNC ever again.

If you’re reading this, I bet you have a favorite herbal remedy. Mine is peppermint oil for stomachaches. Seems to work for me, and there’s a strong body of clinical evidence to support the idea. But in the regulatory Wild West of dietary and herbal supplements, how can you be sure that what you’re buying works the way it is supposed to, contains what the label describes, and most importantly, won’t hurt you? Answer: Increasingly, you can’t.

Big Herba is big business, and when profit is the motive, let the buyer beware.

via Big Herba Out of Control: Why Vitamins, Minerals and Herbal Remedies Can Be Dangerous | Alternet.

Leave a comment