Posted in Uncategorized

A community for those who like to be alone, grown out of a blockbuster TED Talk

As an introvert, I remember in high school being told that I could be the most popular girl in school if I came out of my shell. For too long, introverts were classified as “shy” or worse as “anti-social”. Listening to Susan Cain’s “The Power of Introverts”, I realized that being an introvert was not a handicap but an asset. Introverts observe the world around them. We are quiet not because we are shy but because we are listening and observing. Our quiet times are important. For me, it’s taking long walks with my dogs that re-energize me. I do my best work when I am alone. That’s not a bad thing, it’s just simply who I am.

TED Blog

Melissa Ng makes 3D printed masks. She found inspiration on how to run a company, despite her quiet nature, from Susan Cain's TED Talk and new website. Photo: Courtesy of Melissa Ng Melissa Ng makes 3D-printed masks. She found inspiration on how to run a company, despite her quiet nature, from Susan Cain’s TED Talk and new website, Quiet Revolution. Photo: Courtesy of Melissa Ng

Scott Drummond had been in the Air Force for eight years. It was 1994, and he was eligible to become a commissioned officer, the Air Force’s version of a manager. The average person gets the job after three interviews. Drummond interviewed 16 times over the next ten years before he got the job.

Looking back at his career, Drummond — now a director of inspections with the Indiana Air National Guard — can see that he lagged about ten years behind his peers as he rose through the ranks. At the time, he couldn’t figure out why. But today, at age 47, he attributes the gap to “starting slow and finishing strong,” thanks to his introverted nature…

View original post 877 more words

Leave a Reply

