Posted in Financial

Those Lying Banks!!!!

I am so glad that I no longer have my accounts with banks.  I use a credit union and for a very good reason.  Banks tend to be sly, lying, double-faced entities.

I work 30 miles from where my credit union is so I went to the bank in the lobby of the building where I work (Independent Bank) and asked for a cashier’s check.  I needed to get a certified copy of the judgment I have against the originator and prefer to send cashier’s checks instead of money orders to the federal court.  I have always preferred cashier’s checks over money orders.  I was told that I had to have an account with them.  I told them that was odd, I had always gone to the Bank of America in the building where I worked downtown with no problem.  The woman was rude.  She told me I could go to a little corner store where they sell money orders.  REALLY????

There is a Wells Fargo and a JPMorgan Chase close by.  I decided to call Wells first.  The customer service representative told me that Wells does sell cashier’s checks to non-customers. I told the customer service representative what had happened with the bank in the lobby and he said that was “unusual” and “odd”.  I thanked him and walked over to Wells Fargo.

At first the cashier told me that she could help but within a few seconds, she changed her mind and said they do not sell cashier’s checks to non-customers.  I told her that I had called customer service before walking over and the representative told me that Wells does sell cashier’s checks to non-customers.  I asked to speak to the manager who just so happened to be standing next to her (the branch manager was another cashier???), and she also told me that I had to have an account with Wells in order to buy a cashier’s check because the money had to be withdrawn directly from my bank account.  Oh, and by the way, she would be happy to open an account for me.

So I walked back to my office and called Wells customer service again.  Once again, customer service told me that they do sell cashier’s checks to non-customers.  So I told the customer service representative what happened at the branch one block from my office.  She then said something about checking to see if the policy had changed since the last time someone had called with that question.  Remember, that was me about 10-15 minutes before.

I am guessing you probably know what she was going to say.  YUP, the policy changed within the 10-15 minutes that I called, walked over to their branch, was denied the cashier’s check, and walked back to call them again.  Imagine that!!!

So now I am debating whether to call Chase.  What do you think?  Should I call Chase or just wait until the weekend and go to my credit union?

My money is on waiting until the weekend and going to my credit union but, hey, I really, really, really want to get that certified copy of the final judgment so I can go collect from a different financial entity.  And I am curious to see how I will be treated at Chase. So, wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

